14 Ancient Sacred Symbols That Still Hold Power Today

Feeling a sense of harmony and serenity within can be deeply shaped by the power of sacred symbols. Whether they hang as decorative elements in your home, are worn as pieces of jewelry, or used for other purposes, each sacred symbol carries a unique energy, influencing both our consciousness and the spaces we live in.

In this blog post, we will explore 14 powerful sacred symbols and their meanings, embracing a way to add spiritual depth and meaning to our lives and daily surroundings.

pin that says the meaning of sacred symbols

What Are Sacred Symbols?

Sacred symbols have been an important part of human history and culture for centuries. They are not just visually appealing but also carry deep spiritual meaning. Think of them as cosmic emojis with a deep backstory. Whether it’s the Flower of Life, Ankh, or Tree of Life, each symbol holds a powerful significance.

Depending on the cultural and spiritual traditions they are used in, sacred symbols can be seen as bridges between the earthly realm and the divine. Like a secret code of the universe, they carry way more meaning than meets the eye, bringing us closer to universal truths and profound ideas.

These sacred symbols remind us that our existence is more than just the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

Let’s unravel each sacred symbol for a better understanding of how they guide us toward more self-discovery and enlightenment. 

Sacred Symbols: Exploring their Meanings and Influence

1.) Flower of Life

The Flower of Life symbol has gained popularity in recent times. It has a mesmerizing pattern of overlapping circles that create a stunning floral design.

With origins dating back to Ancient Egypt, the Flower of Life represents the interconnection between all living beings and the universal order.

By incorporating this sacred symbol into your surroundings, you’ll be reminded of the cosmic harmony and the unity that underlies the natural world.

flower of life sacred symbol

2.) Ankh

The Ankh symbol also originates from Ancient Egypt and represents eternal life and spiritual unity. It’s often depicted as a cross with a loop at the top. This sacred symbol stands for the fusion of male and female energy and shows the connection of opposites.

Ankh symbol as a silver pendant

3.) Sri Yantra

If you are looking for sacred symbols that enhance your spiritual experience, consider the Sri Yantra. It shows nine interlocking triangles, often associated with spiritual and material wealth.

It works well in places where focus and dedication to the craft are crucial. If you have a home office, for example, you can hang a beautiful Sri Yantra tapestry near your workspace to invite abundance into your life.

The same applies to spaces where you like to unwind and relax, such as a meditation corner.

sri yantra

4.) Sacred Mandala Symbol

The Mandala is another sacred symbol that is commonly known. With roots in Hinduism and Buddhism, the Mandala symbolizes the universe’s unity.

The geometric or circular pattern is often used in spiritual practices for meditation and reflection. Like the Flower of Life, it represents unity, wholeness, and the universe.

Creating a Mandala can be a meditative experience. You can paint a freehand Mandala on paper or canvas and hang it on your wall. It will create a relaxing atmosphere wherever it is displayed.

painting mandala

5.) Metatron’s Cube

In the world of sacred symbols, the Metatron’s cube looks the most impressive to me. It shows interconnected lines, forming a three-dimensional shape.

The Metatron’s Cube is named after an archangel and represents stability, balance, and divine order. Many believe that displaying it in social surroundings can create a harmonious and peaceful atmosphere. It’s a beautiful way to embrace positivity and create a welcoming environment for all.

metatron's cube symbol

6.) Tree of Life

The Tree of Life is a symbol found in many cultures that represents the connection between all living things. Its branches reach towards the sky, while its roots go deep into the earth, symbolizing the connection between the divine and earthly realms.

Having the Tree of Life around helps you feel grounded and spiritually connected. As a sacred symbol of balance and harmony, the Tree of Life guides you on your journey of self-discovery.

Tree of life sacred symbol

7.) Celtic Knots as Sacred Symbols

Celtic knots are known for their captivating interwoven patterns, celebrating the connection of spiritual and physical realms as well as eternity.

Each knot is a visual reminder of the seasonal nature of life. There are countless ways to integrate the Celtic knot design into your life, such as jewelry, art, or home decor.

celtic knot symbol

8.) Enso Symbol

The Enso is a Zen Buddhist sacred symbol of enlightenment that shows a hand-drawn circle.

It is the perfect representation of the imperfect nature of life and the beauty of embracing the present moment. The simplicity of this symbol will provide a calm atmosphere.

You can easily paint an Enso symbol on a canvas or a piece of paper to hang on a wall. Creating it yourself will infuse it with your personal intention and energy, which will then transcend to your living space.

Enso symbol

9.) Om

Some of you might be familiar with the chant “Om” from yoga or meditation classes. It is one of the most sacred sounds in Hinduism and Buddhism.

The sound and symbol of Om represent the universe and the unity of all existence. If you wish, you can take a moment to chant or silently meditate upon the sound “Om” while you are at home. The vibrations of the sound will instantly harmonize your body, mind, and spirit.

Om symbol

10.) Hamsa Hand

This symbol, with its open palm and an eye in the center, is also referred to as The Hand of Fatima. It is used to ward off negative energies and the evil eye.

Protect your home by placing a Hamsa Hand wall decor at the doorway to attract blessings and positivity.

hamsa hand sacred symbol

11.) Labyrinth

If you are into self-discovery and deep introspection through sacred symbols, the Labyrinth design might be the right one for you. It shows a winding path that can put you in a meditative state when you look at it for a long time.

labyrinth sacred symbol

12.) Sacred Chakra Symbols

Commonly known as the energy centers in the body, chakras are located along the spine. Each chakra has a specific color as well as a symbol that is associated with specific qualities and aspects of human existence, from grounding to spiritual awakening. 

woman holding crystals with chakra symbols on them

13.) Yin and Yang

I’m sure you’ve come across this symbol. Yin and Yang are fundamental concepts in Chinese philosophy. While Yin symbolizes the passive, receptive, and feminine aspects, Yang represents the active, assertive, and masculine aspects. But only together can they truly harness their potential and form a balanced duo.

Ying and Yang symbol

14.) Lotus Flower

Because the lotus flower blooms under difficult circumstances in muddy environments, it is often associated with themes such as transformation.

The journey of the Lotus Flower represents the human experience of overcoming challenges and gaining a better understanding of life. Create sacred places for reflection and enlightenment with the Lotus symbol, for example, by decorating tables and shelves with lotus flower candleholders or actual lotus flowers.

lotus flower sacred symbols

Unlocking Sacred Symbols

I hope the journey through some of the most powerful sacred symbols has inspired you to explore the depths of your own spirituality and consciousness. Each sacred symbol whispers ancient truths that can be integrated into your everyday life.

Remember though, they are not just decorative elements but carry meaningful energies that foster your growth and individuality on a deeper level.